Media Guide

We are pleased to present the PHL Airport News Media Guide to reference as you cover Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and Northeast Philadelphia Airport (PNE) events. Included are our operations and policies. Both Airports are owned and operated by the City of Philadelphia, using no local tax dollars. All questions regarding the operation and policies of the Airport should be directed to the Public Affairs Department.

Types of Emergencies

 It is important to understand the types of emergencies that may occur at the Airport, who responds, and what takes place.

    Alert I An aircraft experiences a possible problem (e.g. panel indicator light that advises of a potential operational problem, such as landing gear difficulty, etc.). Airport Operations, the Philadelphia Fire Department (Airport Unit), and the Philadelphia Police Department (Airport Unit) respond to the Alert. Off-Airport emergency units are also alerted. Personnel respond by assuming pre-designated positions on the Airport until Alert I status is terminated or secured.
    Alert II An aircraft accident or incident occurs on or proximate to the Airport. An Alert II activates all Airport and Off-Airport emergency units. The Airport Emergency Plan goes into effect with the Philadelphia Fire Department assuming control of the situation. The Airport may be closed and may only be re-opened by the CEO or her designee.
    Alert III A major aircraft accident or incident with potential for mass casualties occurs on or proximate to the Airport.
An Alert III activates all Airport and Off-Airport emergency units, including multiple alarms from the Philadelphia Fire Department. The Airport Emergency Plan goes into effect with the Philadelphia Fire Department assuming control of the situation. The Airport is automatically closed and may only be reopened by the CEO or her designee.
    Aircraft Hijacking/Hostage-Taking Incidents Initially, all Airport emergency units respond to such incidents, with the Philadelphia Police Department taking charge of the scene. Upon arrival, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) has jurisdiction over hijacking/hostage incidents when the aircraft is on
the ground. Airport emergency units support agencies in charge.
    Bomb Threats There is reason to believe an explosive device or suspicious package has been found, or reported to be on Airport property or aircraft. The Philadelphia Police Department conducts the initial investigation. The Police Bomb Disposal Unit, the FBI, and other agencies may also become involved pending the results of the initial investigation. During such incidents, all Airport emergency units respond until the situation is secured.
    Code Red  Auto accidents, fire, fuel, and smoke, unusual odors and the release or potential release of hazardous materials. During a Code Red, responding units include Airport Fire, Police, Operations, and other units as required. Full response is provided to Code Red incidents, and outside agencies may be notified as required.
    Code Yellow Medical emergencies on Airport property, or in close proximity to the Airport. During a Code Yellow, responders include the Airport’s Medic Unit, Police, Operations, and other units as required. Immediate medical assistance and transportation to the hospital are provided as needed.
    Fuel Farm Fire An incident at the Airport’s Fuel Farm. Responding units include Airport Fire, Police, Operations, and other units as required. During a Fuel Farm fire, the Airport may be closed. Other agencies will be notified as required.
    Radiological Incident Report of the release or potential release of radioactive material on Airport property. Responding units include Airport Fire, Police, and Operations. The Fire unit evaluates the incident and determines the need for evacuations/quarantines. Nuclear regulatory agencies are notified and other agencies may become involved as required. Off-Airport emergency units are also alerted.
    Weather Emergencies The Public Affairs Department is available around the clock to answer questions about Airport operations, including delays, runway/taxiway closures, and field/weather condition reports.

Other Emergencies

Airport emergency units respond to other emergency situations as necessary. Other situations include:

  • Movement Area Power Failure
  • Civil Disorders
  • Natural Disasters
  • Emergency Maintenance
Where to Report

Contact the Public Affairs Department during any type of emergency situation or normal media coverage when a news crew is dispatched to the Airport. During an emergency situation, representatives of the Public Affairs Department will make every effort to have the news media escorted as close as possible to the emergency scene. In addition, a Command Post/Communication Center will be established at or near the emergency scene. Briefings and interviews will be held at or near the emergency when possible. In addition to the representatives of the Public Affairs staff listed on the Media Protocols page, the Airport CEO and senior staff are the only authorized spokespersons regarding the operation of Philadelphia International Airport. Every effort will be made to secure spokespersons from other involved agencies, airlines, and tenants for interviews when necessary. Please be prepared to present media credentials.

Directions to Media Parking for the Multipurpose Lot from I-95S

  • Take Exit 12B, Rte. 291- Cargo City
  • Make a left unto Rte. 291/Bartram Ave. at the traffic light at the end of the exit ramp towards Cargo City/Lester.
  • Make a left unto Industrial Highway at "Wally Park".
  • Follow sign for Arriving Flights
  • Follow signs for Uber/Lyft to the sign that says "Commercial Vehicles Only" and stay to the right
  • When you access the lot through the gate arms, follow the Uber/Lyft sign to the right. Follow this road past the hold lot and it will bring you directly to the South Commercial Road at Terminal A. Continue on South Commercial Rd. to the multipurpose lot.
  • There are two entrances at either end.
  • Enter the lot and park in a lined, marked space.
  • Please do not set up equipment in parking spaces.

Restricted Area
Please be advised the Air Operations Area (AOA) is a restricted area. The AOA is defined as all surface areas inside the perimeter fence line of the airfield. Requests for access to this area must be directed to the Marketing and Public Affairs Department. *Do not attempt to enter any secured area of the Airport without proper clearance or escort. Unauthorized access is a violation of federal law, and individuals will be subject to police action.

Security Checkpoints
Security checkpoints are under the jurisdiction of the Transportation Security Administration (TSA). TSA is responsible for all passenger and baggage screening. Under no circumstances are media allowed past the
security checkpoints.

Official Spokespersons for PHL Passenger Airlines
Air Canada

 

Air Canada  

Peter Fitzpatrick  

Corporate Communications  

416-263-5576 

416 948-7598 (cell) 

Peter.Fitzpatrick@aircanada.ca  

Media_afterhours@aircanada.ca 

 

Alaska Airlines

 

Alaska Airlines

Corporate Communications

206-304-0008

Newsroom@alaskaair.com

American Airlines and American Eagle

 

American Airlines & American Eagle

Andrew Trull

Media Relations

817-291-6926

Andrew.Trull@aa.com

Corporate Communications

MediaRelations@aa.com

British Airways

 

British Airways

212-716-0477

americas.communications@ba.com

Delta Airlines & Delta Connection

 

Delta Airlines & Delta Connection

Morgan Durrant

404-714-8520

404-625-5570 – mobile

morgan.durrant@delta.com

 

Gerome Sene

PHL Station Manager

215-863-5920

404-775-6409 – mobile

Gerome.sene@delta.com

 

Corporate Communications

404-715-2554 (24/7)

404-715-5876 (fax)

888-763-5304 (after-hours)

Frontier Airlines

 

Frontier Airlines

Primary Contact:

Corporate Communications

720-374-4560

media@flyfrontier.com

 

Secondary Contacts:

Jennifer F. de la Cruz

Director of Corporate Communications

305-205-4465 – mobile

JenniferF.DeLaCruz@flyfrontier.com

 

Zach Kramer

Manager of Corporate Communications

559-708-8248 – mobile

Zach.Kramer@flyfrontier.com

jetBlue Airways

 

JetBlue Airways

Corporate Communications

718-709-3089

corporatecommunications@jetblue.com

Lufthansa German Airlines

 

Lufthansa German Airlines

Christina Semmel,

Manager Corporate Communications North America

+1 516-296-9671

christina.semmel@dlh.de

Qatar Airways

 

Qatar Airways

Qatar Airways Group

Corporate Communications Departments

+974 4022-2200

qrmedia@qatarairways.com.qa

Southwest Airlines

 

Southwest Airlines

Corporate Communications

214-792-4847

swamedia@wnco.com

Spirit Airlines

 

Spirit Airlines

Media Center

954-364-0231

Media_Relations@Spirit.com

sun country airlines

 

Sun Country Airlines  

Jessica Wheeler  

Senior Director Marketing Communications  

702-539-1596 

Jessica.wheeler@suncountry.com

 

Erin Blanton  

Communications Manager  

763-607-3077 

erin.blanton@suncountry.com 

mediarelations@suncountry.com

United Airlines

 

United Airlines

Media Relations

872-825-8640

media.relations@united.com

 

Official Spokespersons for PHL Cargo Activity
ATI logo

 

Air Transport International (ATI)  

Paul Cunningham  

937-366-2310  

 paul.cunningham@atsginc.com 

DB Schenker logo

 

DB Schenker

Jamie Alcantara 

USA Marketing 

786- 602-3071(cell)  

Jamie.Alcantara@dbschenker.com 

DHL logo

 

DHL  

Robert Mintz  

Public Relations  

206-674-4006  

425-984-4249 (cell)  

robert.mintz@dhl.com 

dnata logo

 

dnata  

Angelo Loggia  

PHL Station Manager  

215-450-2497 (cell) 

angelo.loggia@dnata.us 

FedEx logo

 

Federal Express (FedEx) 

Joseph Pilong  

PHL Ramp Senior Manager 

215-937-4709 

jfpilong@fedex.com  

General Media Line 901-434-8100 

UPS logo

 

United Parcel Service (UPS) 
Jim Mayer 
Public Relations Manager 
UPS Airlines 
502-329-3014  

502-595-7061 (cell)  
jmayer@ups.com  

worldwide flight services logo

 

Worldwide Flight Services  

Frank Rapone   

215-558-8247 

frapone@wfs.aero 

 

Official Spokespersons for PHL U.S. Government Agencies
City of Philadelphia

 

City & Local  

City of Philadelphia Department of Commerce  

Kevin Lessard  

Deputy Communications Director 

267-251-1345  

Kevin.lessard@phila.gov 

 

Taj Magruder  

Communications Director  

215-683-2067 

taj.magruder@phila.gov 

U.S Customs and Border Protection

 

Customs and Border Protection (CBP)  

Stephen Sapp  

215-594-4117 (office)  

215-390-6935 (cell)  

stephen.sapp@cbp.dhs.gov

Department of Homeland Security

 

Department of Homeland Security (DHS) 

Office of Public Affairs  

202-282-8010  

mediainquiry@hq.dhs.gov 

Federal Aviation Administration

 

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)  

Arlene Salac  

347-684-2855 

Arlene.salac@faa.gov 

 Pressoffice@faa.gov 

FBI

 

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) 

Carrie Adamowski 

Public Affairs Officer 

267-807-6482 (office) 

215-292-8127 (cell) 

philadelphia.media@fbi.gov 

Immigration and Customs Enforcement

 

Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)  

202-732-4242  

icemedia@ice.dhs.gov 

SEPTA

 

SEPTA  

Andrew Busch  

Chief Press Officer  

215-580-7849 

Abusch@septa.org 

TSA

 

Transportation Security Administration (TSA)  

Lisa Farbstein  

571-227-4665 (office)  

lisa.farbstein@tsa.dhs.gov 

 

Official Spokespersons for Emergency Response
OEM logo

 

Office of Emergency Management  

Jeffrey Kolakowski  

Communications Manager  

215-686-1300 

jeffrey.kolakowski@phila.gov 

Philadelphia Fire Department logo

 

Philadelphia Fire Department  

Kathy Matheson  

Communications Director 

215-686-1384  

kathy.matheson@phila.gov 

Philadelphia Police Department logo

 

Philadelphia Police Department  

Sergeant Eric Gripp 

Public Information Officer  

Social and Digital Media Manager 

215-203-6620  

eric.gripp@phila.gov  

police.public_affairs@phila.gov